Getting to Know Your Body’s Chakras

What are Chakras?

The seven vowels of nature, or more commonly known as your “Chakras” or energy centres drive your body to peace and tranquility.  These centres interrelate through the Nadi system in your body and have a local and systemic effect on the overall well being of a person.  Initially, energetic structures develop in utero (in the womb). The chakras help to guide and support physical structures, such as the endocrine system, sensory and body organs, joint structures and limb movement, as well as the functions that are associated with belief patterns on all planes of the aura. 

The chakras help in the development of self-awareness, soul purpose and a higher self-realisation. Naturally, they impact the anatomy and physiology of the body in a profound way when they interact with the nervous system. Stress put on your energetic levels has the ability to affect your physiological being and health related issues. The stress can literally lead to physiological manifestations. 

If each energy centre is out of whack or imbalanced, it has an effect on the associated energetic channels of the Nadi system and how they manifest on the physical, emotional and psychological levels. The use of energetic pathways can help lead to balancing negative manifestations.

The 7 Chakras

Each chakra has a unique meaning;

  • To be Present
  • To Feel
  • To Act
  • To Love
  • To Speak
  • To See and, 
  • To Know

In addition, each is then associated with a different part of the body and has a specific name;

  • Root Chakra
  • Sacral Chakra
  • Solar Plexus Chakra
  • Heart Chakra
  • Throat Chakra
  • Third Eye Chakra
  • Crown Chakra



Root Chakra

Location – The base of the spine

Colour Red

Meaning – Physical identity, stability grounding

A blocked root chakra can have implications resulting in physical issues such as arthritis, bladder or colon problems, constipation, or emotional problems, such as insecurities surrounding finances and / or basic needs and well-being. When it is aligned and open, one will feel emotionally and physically grounded and secure.


Sacral Chakra

Location – Just below the belly button, just above the pubic bone

Colour – Orange

Meaning – Sexuality, pleasure, creativity

When blocked, this chakra manifests problems with the associated organs, such as urinary tract infections, lower back pain, and impotency. This chakra connects to our self-worth and is emotionally based. It is specifically connected to one’s self-worth pertaining to sexuality, pleasure and creativity, as the meaning suggests.


Solar Plexus Chakra

Location – The upper abdomen, in the stomach area

Colour – Yellow

Meaning – Self-esteem, confidence

When your solar plexus chakra is blocked, a common sign is to experience digestive / digestive system problems. This could be through having ongoing ulcers occur, heartburn, eating disorders, and indigestion. It’s the chakra of our personal power, i.e. it is related to our self-esteem and self-confidence.


Heart Chakra

Location – The centre of the chest, just above the heart (the heart centre)

Colour – Green

Meaning – Love, compassion

Problems with the heart chakra result in heart problems, asthma, and weight issues. Blocks are often seen even more clearly through people’s actions. People with heart chakra blocks often put others first, to their own detriment. 

This chakra is number 4, i.e. the middle of the seven chakras, serving as the midpoint between the upper and lower chakras. It also represents our ability to love and connect to others. When out of alignment, it can make us feel lonely, insecure, and isolated, as it is connected to the heart.


Throat Chakra

Location – The throat

Colour – Blue

Meaning – Communication

This chakra is associated with verbal communication. A blockage of the throat chakra will manifest voice and throat problems as well as any problems with surrounding areas, such as the teeth, gums, and mouth. Dominating conversations, gossiping, speaking without thinking, and having trouble speaking your mind are also associated with problems in this area. When in alignment, you will speak and listen with compassion and feel confident when you speak because you know you are being true to yourself with your words.


Third Eye Chakra

Location – Between the eyes, on the forehead (also known as the brow chakra)

Colour – Indigo

Meaning – Intuition, imagination

Blockages of the third eye chakra result in headaches, issues with sight or concentration, and hearing problems. People who have trouble listening to reality (who seem to “know it all”) or who are not in touch with their intuition may also have a blockage occurring in their third eye chakra. When the chakra is open and in alignment, people will be able to follow their intuition better and be able to see the bigger picture.


Crown Chakra

Location – The very top of the head

Colour – Violet / White

Meaning – Awareness, intelligence

This is the chakra of enlightenment and represents spirituality and our life’s purpose. The crown chakra is linked to every other chakra (and therefore every organ in this system), and so it affects not just all of those organs, but also our brain and nervous system.  When one has a blocked crown chakra they may be narrow-minded, skeptical, or stubborn. When this chakra is open, it is thought to help keep all the other chakras open and to bring the person bliss and enlightenment.



To function at your peak and for your chakras to perform at their best, they need to stay open, or balanced. If they get blocked, you may experience physical or emotional symptoms related to a particular chakra.

Due to chakras being energetic centers which correspond to feelings, one of them might resonate with you. Often one chakra block may resonate with you more as you experience more problems in this specific area. Other blockages may pop up every now and then. There are specific and recommended treatments for each of these chakra blocks.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *